Toccata Home
Jame Rawie, Conductor


Information: 775-298-6989

by Donation. July 3, 2020

The benefit soiree, July 3

A small number of Toccata-Tahoe Orchestra players and Chorus soloists will be performing on Friday July 3, at 5:30 PM.

A fine dinner will be served, with TOCCATA performers adding music from the patio above the seating area. These Benefit Events will occur at St Patrick's Episcopal Church - 341 Village Blvd, Incline Village, NV 89451. (map) The event will conform to Nevada Covid-10 'small event' standards, and attendees must arrive wearing masks. Bathroom access is limited - please 'go' at home first. Outdoor seating (below the patio) will provide for 6 foot spacing between guests.

Donation Tickets will benefit St Patrick's Episcopal Church, and the Toccata-Tahoe Endowment Fund. Toccata-Tahoe musicians will include: Brian FoxDaniel CatesRick StocktonJoel MuncNick HanesDonna AxtonWilliam CatesBruce Kanzelmeyer ,  and Chris Bonelli.

Choral Soloists wil include Brad Perry and Stuart Duke.

The minimum donation for tickets is $125. To order tickets in advance, please click here.

CANCELLED: Classy Classics,
with Wagner and Beethoven

Alex Eisenberg, Violin Soloist Alex Eisenberg, Violin Soloist.
(Click for his Full Biography)

This Concert Series was scheduled to include three Beethoven Compositions,
honoring the 250th anniversary of the composer's birth.

  • Symphony #5,  3rd and 4th movements.  Op 67 .........Ludwig van Beethoven (1808).
  • Violin Concerto in D Major,  Op 61 ......... Ludwig van Beethoven (1806).   With Soloist Alex Eisenberg.

  • Romance #1 for Violin and Orchestra,   Op 40 .........Ludwig van Beethoven (1802).   Featuring Violinist Eleanor Sturm.
  • Overture to Tannhäuser,  WWV 70 ................ Richard Wagner (1845)

Short Program notes:

Beethoven's Symphony #5 was to be followed by Beethoven's Violin Concerto, which is generally considered to be one of the greatest Violin Concertos from the 19th century. Lyrical and expansive, it established a new direction for Romantic Violin concertos - focusing on musical interpretation, rather than simple fireworks.

The second half was to begin with an earlier Beethoven work, the Romance for Violin and Orchestra in G Major. This piece features Young Artist  Eleanor Sturm  on Violin.

The Concert was planned to conclude with Wagner's Tannhäuser overture, depicting an epic musical struggle between good and evil.

All of these pieces may be performed at future concert dates.

CANCELLED: The Passion According to St Matthew (J.S. Bach), Part II

The first performance of the St. Matthew Passion was given at the Leipzig Thomaskirche, on Good Friday of 1727. But Bach substantially revised his greatest, most complex liturgical work in 1736, and the Toccata Presentations are based on that version. The St Matthew Passion, in this form, was his last major composition for the Leipzig congregations.

The St. Matthew Passion was written for two separate Choirs, accompanied by two small Orchestras. In most Arias, only one Orchestra provides accompaniment. The Choirs are sometime separated, but more often sing in unison or antiphony - moving the story forwards, and also providing commentary on the events. At different times, the Choruses appear as an unruly mob, or quiet witnesses, or actual participants in the story.

In place of this year's live performances, we invite patrons to enjoy St. Matthew's Passion in the privacy and safety of their own homes, by playing this YouTube Video of the Toccata Performance from Good Friday, 2019:

 Video: Good Friday, 2019 - at St. Patrick's Episcopal Church (Incline Village)

Upcoming: The TOCCATA Concert Tour of Southwest France
April 15-26, 2021

Cover Page of the 2021 Tour Itinerary PDF

You are invited to join 25 Singers, 12 members of our Orchestra, and our other "boosters" in a tour of the Southern Rhône river valley, with 5 concerts in fabulous French Churches. Elizabeth Pitcairn will perform on all concerts! Our itinerary includes the following destinations:

  • Marseille, the legendary Port City;
  • Les Calanques, the wonderous (and newest) National Park in France;
  • and Montpellier, the capital of Languedoc.
  • We have an optional boat tour of the Camargue Delta. We next travel North to stay and perform in:
  • Avignon. Continuing up the Rhône river valley, we tour and perform in:
  • Lyon, after which we will travel to:
  • Paris (with wonderful stops in between). We return to the USA from Paris.

The complete itinerary is subject to change. Please Click Here to download the itinerary brochure. You may fly to and from Reno with the main group, or you can make your own travel arrangements.
Insurance for the Tour is handled by Jeanne Felix, <>.
For Reservations and further Information, please call 775-833-2478.

✔ Smaller, More Intimate Venues

✔ A Wide Variety of Music Performed

✔ Affordable Ticket Prices & Free Entry for Children

Facebook Logo TOCCATA on Facebook TOCCATA-Tahoe Symphony and Chorus
586 Douglas Ct.
Incline Village, NV 89451
Performer Login
Webmaster Email

Web Site content is © by the TOCCATA-Tahoe Symphony and Chorus.
Photos are © by, unless specified otherwise.